94. What changes do I need to report to DTA?

When you are approved for SNAP, you are “certified” for a set amount of time. This is called your certification period. You will need to complete reevaluations (Interim Reports and/or Recertification) in order to maintain eligibility for SNAP.

After SNAP is approved, you should get a notice telling you what your reporting rules are, how long your certification period is, and what kind of certification type you have. There are 3 types of certification type with different reporting and reevaluation requirements. See the chart below. 

Your SNAP reporting requirements should be on your most recent SNAP approval notice. However, sometimes DTA notices are incorrect or not clear about reporting requirements. You can also call DTA to ask what your reporting rules are. 

Bay State Cap reporting rules are not covered in this section. See Question 4 for more information about Bay State Cap.

Certification Type Which households? What do I have to report and when?
SNAP certification types


36 Month Certification Perios

See Question 97

Households where all adults are either age 60+ or disabled and have no earned income (can include with children under 18)

Must complete a Recertification at 36 months. No interim Reports.

Also required to report if:

  • someone joins or leaves the households
  • anyone in the household starts a job (has earnings)

Simplified Reporting:

12 Month Certification Period

See Question 95

All other households including families with children, non-elder/disabled members, working members, ABAWDs, students, etc

Interim Report at 6 months and Recertification at 12 months.

Also required to report if:

  • Gross income exceeds 200% FPL for the household size, unless household includes senior or person with disability (no reporting requirements for households with senior or person with a disability).
  • If an ABAWD, must also report if meeting the rules through work and work hours drop below 20 per week. (The ABAWD rules are currently suspended.)

Change Reporting:

12 Month Cert. Period

See Question 98

Public Assistance cases - all members receive TAFDC, EAEDC, or SSI cash benefits.

Recertification at 12 months.

Also required to report a number of changes to household circumstances.