The Online Resource for Massachusetts Poverty Law Advocates

Calls needed to MA Congress Members - Sign onto McGovern letter to protect SNAP

Thanks to those of you who were able to attend yesterday's Food SNAP Coalition meeting, also attended by former Commissioner Julia Kehoe in her new role at EOHHS; FNS Regional Administrator James Arena DeRosa and FNS staff, and Ellen Vollinger, FRAC Legal Director. Ellen gave an excellent presentation on the current battles before Congress and what we need to do next steps to protect safety net programs.

Now that the Super Committee has failed to reach an agreement on deficit reduction, the House and Senate Agriculture Committees will attempt to develop a free-standing Farm Bill (presumably under a little-known process known as “regular order”).  Our Massachusetts anti-hunger champion, Congressman Jim McGovern, along with CT champion, Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro are currently circulating a Dear Colleague letter urging the House Agriculture Committee to protect SNAP and other low-income nutrition programs as it considers options for reauthorizing the Farm Bill.

It is critically-important to demonstrate strong support for SNAP and other anti-hunger programs as we head into this next phase of Farm Bill reauthorization.  Senate Agriculture Committee Chair Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) and House Agriculture Committee Chair Frank Lucas (R-OK) had been preparing to recommend to the Super Committee $23 billion/10 years in cuts to programs under their jurisdiction, including SNAP.

Please urge your Massachusetts House Member to support SNAP and other low-income nutrition programs by signing the letter by Friday, December 9, COB. Click here to view the letter. Jim McGovern and Mike Capuano are the first two members of our delegation on the letter. letter. Let's make it 100% of our state's delegation!!

Click here to view a recent letter signed by 127 House Members urging the Super Committee to protect SNAP and other low-income safety net programs from budget cuts. (See the last two pages for a typed list of signers.)  All TEN of our MA Delegation members signed the October 13, 2011 letter to the Super Committee:  McGovern, Capuano, Frank, Keating, Lynch, Markey, Neal, Olver, Tierney, Tsongas.  Feel free to remind them of that , and thank them, when you call!

To reach your Congressperson, here's a link to the Massachusetts Delegation with DC office phone numbers and email,

Thanks so much!!!

Patricia Baker

Limit Offer